## QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE

The City University of New York

Minutes of the meeting of the Senate Assessment Committee on May 12, 2014, at 3:30 pm in room A-504.

Current Members Present: Shele Bannon (Chairperson), Sheila Beck (Faculty), Ian Beckford, Jim Bentley (Faculty), Dean Arthur Corradetti (President's Designee), Susan McLaughlin (Secretary), Maurizio Santoro (Faculty), Kerri-Ann M. Smith (Faculty)

Current Members Excused: Linsy Benjamin (Student), Chantale Damas (Faculty), Naboth Jaboin (Student), Barbara Lynch (Faculty)

New Members Present: Georgina Colalillo (Faculty), Linda Meltzer (Faculty), Simran Kaur (Faculty)

New Members Excused: Changiz Alizadeh (Faculty), Sunil Dehipawala (Faculty), Andrea Salis (Faculty), Caf Dowlah (Faculty), Emily S. Tai (Faculty)

- 1. Minutes of April 7, 2014, approved as amended (items 5, 6) by Dean Coradetti.
- 2. Welcome to new members. Shele Bannon described the activities of the Assessment Committee for the new members.

The 2014 - 2015 Assessment Committee will consist of the following members:

Changiz Alizadeh (new)

Georgina Colalillo (new)

Dean Arthur Corradetti (President's designee)

Sunil Dehipawala (new)

Simran Kaur (new)

Linda Meltzer (new)

Andrea Salis (new)

Caf Dowlah (new)

Maurizio Santoro (continuing)

Emily S. Tai (new)

3. Shele Bannon reviewed the Assessment Committee Annual Report. It was noted there were significant improvements in the assessment reports by the teaching departments as compared with last year's annual report, but that a similar improvement was not seen in the non-teaching assessment reports.

4. Recommendations. It was recommended by the committee that each department should have an Assessment Coordinator. This person would supervise and coordinate course assessment for the department, and assist in assessment procedures.

It was also recommended that next year's Assessment committee consider further modifications to the teaching and non-teaching department course assessment rubrics. These modifications could include (a) changing the teaching department rubric such that the current year's activities are directly linked to the last year's action plan and (b) asking both teaching and non-teaching departments to clearly define acronyms and abbreviations in their reports.

- 5. Ian Beckford will be reviewing reports from the latest Assessment Institute cohort.
- 6. Election of a chairperson and secretary for the new committee. Since there were not sufficient members of the new committee present to form a quorum, a designated interim chairperson (Maurizio Santoro) and a designated interim secretary (Linda Meltzer) were elected. Maurizio Santoro will call the first meeting of the Assessment Committee in the Fall of 2014, and at that time the final chairperson and secretary will be elected.

Meeting was adjourned at 4:30 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Susan McLaughlin